Workout: Ran the usual hilliness, 5.25 mi./ 44.03

really didn’t want to run this morning after dropping my kids off at school, but forced myself to because my husband picked up a shift, and I prefer running outside to running on the TM during the kids’ nap time.

About 1.5 miles into my run, I felt bad for firing this friend yesterday:

Image
Don’t mix family with business.

Yeah, I had to have that conversation with her. You know the one. It’s not you, it’s me? I just needed to speed up my pace, and she was holding me back, but in a sick twist of fate, I started out dragging my feet, and bonked way too early. If only I’d had my little friend with me. The climbs were torturous.

After the trudge around the ‘hood, I lazed around for a while, taking my time to grub on one egg+three egg whites scrambled with feta, chopped tomatoes, and avocado on top and to stand in the shower for a really long time. Just because I could.

El Nino’s coming this winter, so the extra rainfall should make up for my shower this morning.

Then, I went to pick up these hooligans:

Image
What’s wrong with this picture?

I’ll TELL you what’s wrong with it! Olivia’s teacher sent home a bag of slime with her. She obviously doesn’t have kids. Or dogs.

Only kidding. I appreciate the educational value of the slime, but when grading a boatload of papers is at the center of my universe, there’s nothing that will put me in a good mood.

Except a trip to Val Surf. Kidding again. I bought a Groupon for Val Surf, even though I hate going in there because the kids they have working the place assume I’m a strait kook, lugging my kids in my fancy pants station wagon. All I needed were some tie-downs thick and strong enough for my SUP racing board, but the guy seemed confused and/or annoyed that I was doing probably what he thought was my husband’s dirty work.

Nope, buddy. I got what I wanted, plus a set of cheapy straps for surfboards. Here’s what will finally allow me to SUP by myself when my dang husband picks up a shift:

ImageI love a good Groupon deal.

So, come Thursday morning, if there are no waves, I’ll be training for the Malibu SUPathon! I need to work on my stroke for the 6-mile paddle from Leo Carillo down to Zuma. Like, majorly.

Then, it was off to the holy grail: Yogurtland.

Image
pumpkin glory.

I can’t express to you how happy I am that pumpkin is back. I love that flavor something fierce! And, since it’s technically yogurt, it’s healthy, right?

Getting my run in during preschool allowed me to grade during nap time, and because there’s never a shortage of grading to be done in this household, I’ve set up shop for the night:

Image
This is what happens when you take a weekend off from grading.

Yes, the TV is on, my kids are tuned in, and I’m ready to bust this out.

Good parenting at its finest.

Until tomorrow…

Image
Going for gold.
