Saturday’s workout: 

Walked with the dogs and the Bob 3.35 miles/ 50.08 min.

Ran in hot, hilly Wildwood 5.17 mi./ 40.44 min.

Sunday’s workout:

Same dog and Bob walk 3.35 mi./ 52.55 min.

Dreadful treadmill run in the hot garage 5.25 miles total at 1 incline (whatever that means)– 1 mi. @ 8:00; 1 @ 7:36; 1 @ 7:16; 1 @ 7:04; 1 @ 6:58; .25 mi. cool down.

That Sunday run makes me sound like I know what I’m doing. I don’t. I hate running on the treadmill, but with a husband who works 24-hour shifts, it’s the only way I can get my stuff done.

This is where the magic happens:

Image
Home gym.

Because I live in a shoebox, my TM is ideally located against the west wall of the garage in between a collection of surf and SUP boards, Christmas decorations, and Costco purchases that I can’t quite find a place for yet (one one side) and other kid crap (on the other). Including a bag of 301 pinecones my kids stole from the fine city of Thousand Oaks on a walk last week.

Notice my personal trainer standing in the doorway. Awkward as usual.

Don’t even ask me about the color of my home gym. I’ll let my husband guest blog someday about that. The man is so handy that when we were remodeling the inside of our house, he repurposed an old bathroom mirror before it made its way into the dumpster and mounted it on the wall so I can continue to do what I love best… stare at myself. Kidding.

It also helps me work on my form. And by form, I mean perfecting my smile for when I’m on mile 11 in a race and the photogs are fighting to capture my beautiful mug.

Back to the weekend round-up (blogging took a back-seat to an end-of-the-first-quarter grading marathon), Saturday, we went to Kahoots to buy some hay. They had the best price at $7.25 a bale, plus a $5 tip for the dude who loaded the truck.

Here’s us rolling down the 23:

Image

And the moving crew:

Image
Free labor.

No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you. The  man is wearing Crocs. He apparently didn’t get the memo that Crocs are footwear reserved for the under five age set. He had a charm on them, but my kids won it back in a staring contest.

This is what we built:

Image
Real hay. Fake grass.

That dog photobombs every picture.

We bought the hay for a baby shower/Halloween party I’m throwing this weekend, and I thought it’d be fun for the kids to play on and provide extra seating.

After playing outside, I went to RoadRunner to buy a new pair of shoes because all shoes are 25% off until today.

Image
Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee? 

I opted for a new trainer for ugly low-mileage days because they were pretty picked over. I’ve only put in the two weekend runs in them, and I’m happy with them so far. I’m going to order the other Asics I went in for online today.

Do you rotate your shoes? Rotating shoes can help build different muscles in your feel and ankles and preserve the life of your shoes. I’m actually going to start tracking the mileage I put on my shoes instead of being a cheapskate and running in them until there’s no tread left. We’ll see how that goes.

Sunday, we sweated our pants off went to Underwood Farms for the Fall Harvest Festival.

Image
Momma always told me not to look into the sun.

We brought our own wagon to avoid the game-changing splinters from the wagons offered up at the farm. If you’ve ever had a splinter, small kids, or both, then you know the importance of avoiding potential tears when you can.

I told the girls they could choose any pumpkin they could lift.

Image

Emma’s training for the Strong Man World Championships.

Image

Three hot tamales, right there.

What did you do over the weekend? What’s the most bizarre project you’ve ever asked/not asked (but he/she’s done anyway) your partner in crime to do?

