Tags

, , , , , , ,

Action:

None since a mediocre 10K on Friday

I’ve seriously been in the foulest of foul moods lately because I haven’t been getting enough sleep.

Image

If I kick someone off, they just get right back on. And if I kick them out of the room, they’ll scratch and whine at the door to be let in.

It still beats dealing with cat vomit and hairballs.

Aside from the obvious side effects of sleep deprivation (decreased cognitive ability, lack of energy, overall crabbiness), sleep helps runners successfully store glycogen energy stores for the long run, which I read in this article. And this article includes a list of things that runners can do to help get enough sleep.

Nowhere on that list does it say “Kick all dogs off of your bed.”

Dog_humor_dogs_on_bedSource.

It should.

Friday’s run was at a super slow pace for the first 5K (8:45 min./mi.) due to a pinching pain in my jankknee. But after that, it was smooth sailing, and I probably could have run for a really long time, except that I was hoping to meet my girlfriend V at barre.

Because I’m special and can’t tell time, I completely missed the class. Sadface times a gazillion.

But, I was able to make one of my favorite breakfasts.

Image

Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oatmeal, chia seeds, almond butter, and a sprinkling of brown sugar.

After breakfast, I had a date with my PT, where I was told to get an MRI for the fourteenth time on my jankknee. I’ll do it after my marathon.

Quad and knee on the rocks.

Quad and knee on the rocks.

I learned some cool strengthening exercises that I will start doing tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the day I put my game face on again. I lost it over spring break, but I found it after coming to the conclusion that training is supposed to be hard so that the goal is achieved. I’ve been lolly gagging with my training for May’s full mary this entire spring break. Training fail.

I’m thinking of revamping my training schedule, so stay tuned.

Until then, here are my favorite things from the weekend:

On Friday, I was invited by my best runnerfriend Veronique to watch her son and hubs (a tennis pro!) play in an exhibition event at the Las Posas CC:

IMG_3072

 

On Saturday, I put my trusty Nespresso and the accompanying milk frother to good use and produced a drool-worthy almond milk cappucino:

IMG_3012

 

What do I love more: the Nespresso or the Vitamix? Tough call.

Later Saturday, the Sunshine of sunshines put on a trick show to remind me why I love her:

Not exactly cerebral.

Not exactly cerebral.

Kinda reminds me of this video from The Soup.

Finally, two shots from today.

The girls asked for pancakes for breakfast:

No pressure, Mom! I mean, if you drop one, we'll BE SURE to clean it up! No big!

No pressure, Mom! I mean, if you drop one, we’ll BE SURE to clean it up! No big!

And the Sunshine, once again in all her glory, gracefully asserted her dominance over an unsuspecting bubble:

IMG_3049

 

I know what you’re thinking: Where can I get my hands on such a majestic beast?

I can’t answer that question.

Here’s to a new week!

What are your training goals for the week?

Hit 45-50 miles.


Do you play favorites with your pets?

I’m not going to answer this question.

