Tags

, , , ,

Action:

(Today)

6.12 slow, hilly, humid miles/ 52:02 min.

(Yesterday)

75 min. barre class at M6

Image

2.60 mi. walk with the girlsies

I’m back in training mode. Instead of the 18 weeks I’d like to have to train, I have 14, but I’m okay with that. Because, honestly, I don’t exactly know what I’m doing anyway! And it’s in the middle of summer, so I’d complain about those four extra weeks even if I had them! Ask my mom. I complain about everything.

After a week of mourning my failed BQ attempt/first marathon ever, I’ve screwed my head back on straight, and I’m ready to go.

I had two really important (to me) conversations with different people about my 21 second miss over the past week that have really helped me think about why I run and what my goals are.

The first conversation was the day of the marathon when my running mentor and I wrote back and forth. She is a phenomenal athlete who trains hard to achieve her goals, and it was really helpful to have someone like her understand the feeling of failure. It’s depressing. To many people, running a first marathon in 3:35:21 should seem commendable. That wasn’t my goal, though. I didn’t set out to run a commendable race. I set out to BQ. My running mentor reminded me to keep positive, she shared a personal story from her competitive life, and she informed me of another marathon at the end of summer that I could BQ at. Just having someone I respect right off the bat tell me I need to keep it together and try again was huge. Running is such a lonely hobby sometimes, and it felt good knowing that someone else has faith in me.

The second conversation took place at my local Road Runner here in Thousand Oaks. I got to talking with Jim, the manager, about my fail, and he said something that really made me think about how I may have missed the mark in setting expectations for myself. He told me that I really haven’t raced a marathon yet. He said the first one is where you put your foot in the door… really experience the distance for what it is, and figure out what you need to do for your first race. We talked about pacing (fail), nutrition (fail), and the respect for the distance, and I was left feeling like I still have so much to learn. In a good way, though. He took down my email address and sent me a marathon nutrition program one of the other local coaches had sent his running group, and I’m excited to read through it.

So, I’m pumped to begin this new training cycle with a newfound appreciation and respect for 26.2.

ImageSource

To celebrate, I took the fam to Disneyland Costco yesterday. I told the girls we could get hot dogs for lunch (am I the best pescatarian or what?!?!), but on the ride over, Blondie, who, by the way, is 2-years old, enthusiastically suggested, “Hey, Mommy! Instead of having hot dogs for lunch, why don’t we just have samples? Isn’t that a cool idea?”

My kid is brilliant.

Image

 

The husband never turns down a free sample, but lurking around the corned beef guy while the food heated up was a little creepy. So we moved on to the important things in life.

Image

Salty and sweet? Sign me up!

Image

Liquid carbs!

I also got a massage yesterday, and I’m either hurting a lot today because of it or the insane plank/shoulder slaps and/or modified ballerina burpees Michelle had us doing in barre. Or both. But I feel like I need a massage to help me get over my massage!

Don’t forget: TOMORROW IS NATIONAL RUNNING DAY!!! AND MY MOM’S BIRTHDAY!!!

What are your plans for celebrating National Running Day?

What’s the best gift you’ve ever given your mom?

