Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Workout:

Today: 8.07 mi./ 62:02 min.

I ran the fastest Garmin-recorded mile today during my run after work today. 

After I ran one of the best 20-milers ever on Sunday (10 on the ‘mill with an average pace of 8:15; 10 on the road with an average pace of 8:55) in the mother loving RAIN with my BRF (best running friend), I was feeling pretty good about myself.

I LOVE running with V because she is my therapist, and I am always able to vent to her about anything and everything, and she reserves judgement and always doles out solid advice. Good girlfriends are the absolute best.

Image

 

I mean, who will willingly come over to my house to run 10 miles with me IN THE RAIN?!?!?! 

She really is the best.

I didn’t really have a lot to get off my chest, though. I love my job, I have no family dramarama, my limited number of friends are simply amazing, and my life is pretty awesome.

I know that my training is progressing decently in preparation for Boston in 7 weeks, and I’m not really stressed out about it. Yet. I know that running 4-days a week since December will probably NOT result in a PR, but I’m doing what I can.

See? Nothing to complain about!

I also know that when I am stressed out, I tend to resort to sitting on my couch with my blanket and Yorkie on my legs while reading tabloids instead of running.

Seriously.

Image

Which is why I think today was, all things considered, a small victory for me.

Maybe it’s because I’m in the 30-34 age group bracket, or maybe it’s because I have grown in realizing that I can’t control everything (although my type-A tendencies shine brightly on the daily). Type-A, btw, isn’t necessarily a bad thing, right? Right?

Image

But I am strangely not as stressed as I should be having received my first non-pink pink slip today.

ImageSource.

Which is why I might take full advantage of Fat Tuesday and have two of these stellar Golden Road IPAs:

Image

Don’t worry. I’m giving up chocolate for Lent, not beer.

The 6:47 mile at mile #7 might prove my stress-couch theory otherwise, though.

I knew that jumping ship from a school I loved to bits to move closer to my house/girls/community and into the local public school district was a risk.

I have not regretted my decision once. 

Except for today.

I am loyal to a fault. If I love something/someone, I will love it forever, which is why it was so extraordinarily hard for me to leave my last job.

So, the thought of leaving my new job after this year set in around mile 6 of my run today. It was tear-filled, but the slight headwind dried those puppies up in a hot second. Thank goodness.

I love my school. I don’t want to work anywhere else, but I guess that at this point, all I can hope for is a job in my district. 

I’m sad.

I wish more people knew how lucky they were/are to have jobs they love. When you find a place that is completely awesome (and that’s not Google of Facebook or Oiselle), when you are working for a boss who hasn’t lost touch with reality and really believes in bettering the world (don’t gag… you know it’s possible), when you work with one of your best friends who you can have confidential chats with and know it’s kept between the two of you, and when you work with people who, despite disagreements, can work productively and professionally with a common goal in mind, you’ve won the game of life.

ImageSource

“Welcome to public school,” I was told.

I guess I need to callus up my heart a little more.

I’ll work on it.

In the meantime, here are a few highlights of the past couple weeks I’ve missed due to grading/planning:

Image

 

Moonlit, foggy, coyote-filled early morning runs.

Image

 

Team Green for the #pickygames. Booyah!

Image

 

Stellar IPA rec, courtesy of dinner at my mom’s.

Image

 

Spring 2014 race kit, courtesy of the most supportive company ever.

Image

 

Running in the rain with a double rainbow on the horizon.

Image

 

Chasing birds after the storm.

Image

 

My rad family.

I know I have a lot to be grateful for. I’m just going to focus on the present, do the best job I can possibly do, and look forward to the next couple races of the spring season: The Great Race, no bags Boston, Mountains 2 Beach, and the Love Run.

And drink plenty, obvi.

How do you deal with stress?

What is the best job you’ve ever had?

Are you a rainy run lover?

