Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s hard for me to believe that two weeks from today, I’ll be chowing down on a plate full of pasta and bread, fueling for my first 26.2 from Hopkinton to Boylston St. It hit me last week when I received both my passport and the race day shoes I had ordered from Road Runner in the mail.

Image

 

I’m really doing this!

Minus today’s missed long run (don’t worry… I’ll make it up tomorrow after work), I think my training has been pretty decent. I live in a rather hilly corner of the world, and I made a conscious effort to hit up any and all hills during the past couple of months to prepare for the famed Heartbreak Hills. I just need to make sure that my nutrition (including hydration!) and sleep get better.

The one thing that worries me (and I’m writing about this in hopes that if I get it off my chest, then I’ll feel better about it–you know, like therapy!) is that I have been really stressed out lately, and my running, sleep, and nutrition quality definitely suffers when I’m stressed.

ImageSource.

It might have something to do with cutting down on miles as part of my taper or giving up chocolate for Lent, or I might just be going through one of those overwhelming periods of my life, but whatever it is, I am not dealing with it very well. So, in no particular order, here are some of the things that I could do without lately:

1. The husband working. A LOT. It’s not his fault–it’s to accommodate my crazy after school meeting schedule and his other job’s schedule, but the man has been gone more than the girls and I would like. This latest 48-hour shift has been particularly hard.

2. The likelihood of not having a job next year. I don’t like uncertainty. I like where I work now. I actually love it. It is completely nerve-wracking to know that I may/may not be employed because fewer babies were born during a certain year, and now there aren’t enough students to fill classes. I don’t want anyone to say, “Oh, this happens every year.” Or, *”It will all work out.” Or, “Have faith.” You know what you should do if I come whining to you about my job? Offer to by me a beer. Don’t offer me advice. Just listen to me. Over a beer. A good beer.

*The exception was my BRF telling me that it will all work out, and maybe it’s a sign that I should become a profesh runner. Wouldn’t that be rad? I’m too old for that, but her idea certainly made me smile. #pipedreams

3. Training for a marathon. Don’t get me wrong. I am 100% pumped for Boston. But when you have two kids, a husband who is away for 24-72 hours at a time, and goals, it’s really hard to put 100% into the training that can be done. And I may or may not be a little bit Type A. I often have to rely on my mom to watch the girls on Sundays so that I can get my long runs in. I am eternally grateful that I have such a wonderfully supportive mom who lives super close and will help me out like she does! But even with her help, I sometimes have to do half of the miles on the treadmill and half on the road or all on the treadmill. (I have found that my ‘mill-running for enjoyment-threshold is 8 miles).

Image

And can we talk about running 10-milers after a full day of work? It’s hard, man! I’m currently working on tricking my mind into thinking that tomorrow’s post-work 15-miler is going to be non-stop awesomeness filled with a really rad creme center.

NOTE: When your diary is paperless and public, this is what happens. I am fully aware of the fact that there are mothers out there doing far greater things than I ever will do with little to no support system. Those women are badass. They are my heros. Also, I realize and am grateful for how utterly and insanely blessed I am. I have my health and my healthy and happy family. I thank God every day for this. I simply just need this space to vent. And to share my story of trying to be a mom who is trying to do it all a lot. I can’t do it alone, that’s fo’ sho’. (PS- Thank you, Mom!!!).

4. A bloody ingrown toenail. For serious. Two weeks before Boston. After Monday’s run, I thought I had simply developed a blister (I never ever get blisters) on the inside of my big toe. However, the pain didn’t go away, and on the paramedic-husband’s day off, I assaulted him after a more-than-uncomfortable 8-miler, insisting he fix me. I have never had an ingrown toenail before. They’re pretty painful. In fact, I would not wish one on anybody.

“It’s going to take time,” he said.

Image

He collected the tools necessary for a quick fix (at least I’m hoping it’s quick!), and I have been soaking my toe in an epsom salt/iodine twice a day ever since.

Image

 

You’re welcome for not showing you the toe.

When he comes home tomorrow, he has plans to super glue it. 

And all will be right in my world because he will be home and he will tell me that everything is going to be fine. <-It’s perfectly okay if he says it. Because I believe him. And that’s what husbands/wives/sig. others are allowed to do.

Enough of the complaining. 

I have had plenty to celebrate recently. 

First, my best friend from high school got married, and his wedding was rad to the max!

Image

Image

His wife has impeccable taste. Candy is my jam. Especially the jelly beans!

Because of our crazy schedules, the wedding was the first date night the huz and I had had in quite a while! 

Image

We clean up rather nicely, if I may say so myself!

Also worth celebrating was the loss of Mini Me’s first tooth!

Image

 

Please tell me that time will slow down. I want this girl to be my baby forever!!!

By the way, can I tell you how much I love her freckles? And can I tell you that out of Santa, the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy, the Tooth Fairy DEFINITELY has the hardest job?!?!?!?!

Especially when the tooth loser doesn’t want any magic to be sprinkled on her and sleeps with one eye open.

Image

 

I told her to write a note quickly because it was past bedtime. She’s such a funny kid.

Finally, one of my besties celebrated her incredibly adorable and snuggly little dude’s first birthday with these gems.

Image

 

Sometimes, cupcakes are just what a girl needs.

Well, I’m already feeling better! I think that this week will be a good one. (I mean, every week-before-spring-break in middle school is always full of intense focus and high intrinsic motivation!)

Tell me something that you’re looking forward to this week.

 

 

