Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve only been in Boston for a couple hours, but I definitely have a new favorite city!

Our trip began the best way possible yesterday after my wonderful father-in-law dropped us off at LAX. We easily checked in to the JetBlue desk, made our way through security, and hit up the ladies’ room. As I was drying my hands, the most spunky chick looked at me and asked if the top I was wearing was Oiselle.

As it turns out, I was chatting with Jacqueline Hansen, the 1973 Boston Marathon winner AND two-time world record setter in the marathon! Additionally, she is in both the Road Runners Club of America and the National Distance Running Hall of Fame.

Naturally, I had to ask for a picture with her!

 Image

She was beyond sweet and helpful, and she introduced me to the team of chicks she was travelling with, Jeaney and Michele, both from Hawaii!

 Image

Both of those chicks train on Diamond Head, so they pretty much eat hills for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Heartbreak Hill: meet your competition!

That was seriously the best way to start off this trip! I was so pumped that I forced my personal paparazzi to shoot me lunging down the aisle.

Image

I had to! 

Don’t worry. The gorgeous lady looking super annoyed at my antics is my mom. She’s used to it. And she promptly shouted out that I was holding up the line. Woops!

The flight took a bit longer than scheduled due to two delays (I now know why people get crabby when they’re delayed on the tarmac), but it was made easier when we met three super Aussie chicks running Boston through an International Travel program! They had been travelling for almost an entire day, but nothing could dampen their spirits! They said that after last year, they HAD to run Boston this year. Sadly, I didn’t get a picture with them.

Seriously, the spirit of this marathon is so enormous and contagious! I am beginning to think that every person in the world could benefit from running or cowbelling Boston, and I haven’t even run the race yet!

The spirit continued when we touched down in Boston. We were immediately chatted up by Bostonians who thanked us for coming and wished me luck on Monday.

Thank you, Boston!

After grabbing our luggage, we hopped on the 55 to the Blue Line, then stopped at the Orange Line to get to our hotel.

 Image

Image

 

The husband had to wrangle Blondie, who wasn’t quite ready to test her balance out on the T.

Image

Papa made sure none of the luggage flew across the car. It’s really a tough job rolling/carrying luggage from bus to train to train to hotel!

This was the girls’ first time on both a bus and a subway, so they were super excited.

 Image

Look at those city girls!<–kidding. Both girls almost ate dirt many times on the T. They need to learn to hang on!

It was also my first time navigating a train system since I studied abroad in Italy a gazillion years ago, so I kind of had an idea of where we needed to go, but just to make sure, when the doors of a T would open, I would shout things like “which way to the Blue Line?” and “where direction to the Back Bay?”

And you know what? Bostonians are really rad, and they helped out. They reacted very quickly, thankfully.

I think the thing I like the best about the people here are that they’re not all huggy/sweet and cuddly, but they all seem to be fiercely loyal to their city, and they are very, very helpful in the most understated way.

After we arrived at our hotel (we’re staying at the newly renovated Loews), we dropped off our stuff and ventured out to grab a bite to eat because we were all starving! At the recommendation of the concierge, we walked the couple blocks to the Parish Café on Boylston!<–I had the most happy moment when we rounded the corner onto Boylston!

 Image

While ordering a pint, I noticed a runner chick sitting at the bar and invited her to join us.

 Image

This chick is pretty badass. Boston will be her first marathon ever! After last year, she signed up to run Boston for the One Fund, and she has almost raised $10,000, which is her goal, but I think it would be really cool (she would say “wicked cool”) if she surpassed that amount!

You can here check her campaign site out and donate as your heart desires!

PS She has 3 days to go to reach her goal! 

Her enthusiasm and pumped-upness was unparalleled, and she made me fall even more in love with Boston! She didn’t even judge me for having my kids out to dinner at 1 o’clock in the morning!<–not the best at time changes.

Back to the Parish Café, the place is delicious. They have a ton of bottled beer, and a selection of beers on tap.

 Image

Image

I ordered the 26.2 (meh) and the Harpoon 100 barrel brown ipa (yum!).

Image

That was my first Sam Adams 26.2. I believe it’s only distributed in Boston around marathon time!

For dinner, I chose the corn cakes, and they were as delicious as they look.

 Image

I might have to come here again and order the same thing because it was that tasty.

Well, I’m off to fall even more in love with this great city! I’ll have to bundle up today—it’s 39 degrees outside and it’s already 10’oclock. I’ll be going to the expo today, if anyone wants to meet up.

Really, I have to get my grubby little paws on the limited edition Oiselle Boston tee.

 Image

If you’re interested, Oiselle will be set up within the City Sports booth, and Kara Goucher and Lauren Fleshman will be signing fan cards tomorrow from 11-1!!!

I’m going to a Red Sox game tonight! Anything I must absolutely know/eat?

What is your favorite city?

Are you a car/taxi/public transportation person?

What is your favorite snack?

