Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I was at the Ventura Marathon Expo a couple weeks ago, I met Becky, a super cool chick who is helping to bring the new Lexus LaceUp Running Series to Southern California.

LaceUp_Logo_Primary

Since there are only a handful of really quality races in Ventura County (Ventura Marathon, Santa to the Sea, and Mountains 2 Beach), I was SUPER pumped to hear that the fine folks over at LaceUp were bringing a new running event to my home away from home!

This race series has options though! 5K, 10K, and Half Marathon distance races will be held in Ventura on 11/2, Palos Verdes on 11/15, Irvine on 12/6, and Riverside on 12/13.

So…. I count myself SUPER lucky to be able to tell you that not only did I NOT scare off Becky with my awkward enthusiasm, but I was also chosen to be a Lexus LaceUp Ambassador!

IMG_1596

I’m stoked to be a part of this team mostly because it is going to be a really social event! What sets the Lexus LaceUp Running Series apart from most other races is both the post-race party and their charity partner that is region-specific!

All runners will be treated to brunch and Sierra Nevada beer at the end! Seriously! It’s included in the registration cost! Who doesn’t love a good Sunday brunch?!?!?! And don’t even get me started on the awesomeness of the post-run beer and cool jams! So, essentially, the race series director has taken the luxe brand partner Lexus and created an equally quality series of Fall races!

Just as important to me as a well-run (bahahahahahaha!) race is the charity partner! For Ventura, it’s FOOD Share!

food share logo

FOOD Share helps to feed hungry children, elderly, and families in the Ventura County area! Both my husband and I live and work in Ventura County, and because we both work with the people and families IN our community, we are passionate about helping those around us who are in need. It’s also a good habit to instill into our little people.

I will for sure be at the Ventura race (Ventura Mary RD Josh designed all the courses!!!). I’m also thinking of running Irvine because I have a really good college friend who moved down there.

Because this is the inaugural year of the LaceUp Running Series, I can’t tell you that last year was so badass that I’m for sure doing it again this year, but I can tell you that the courses in each location kick ass, everyone involved is so invested in making sure that each race is well-executed, and if the launch party my fellow ambassadors and I were invited to last night was any indication of the radness of this series, it’s going to be pretty amazing.

We were invited to (MY FAVORITE!!!) Golden Road Brewery in Los Angeles for a Lexus/LA Magazine/LaceUp Running Series launch party complete with good beer and tasty snacks!

Upon arriving, the husband and I were super pumped. In regular craft beer rotation in our fridge happen to be Golden Road Point the Way IPA, Wolf Among Weeds, and Heal the Bay.

fridgebeers

The party was under way by the time we arrived thanks to typical LA traffic and a 30-second pit stop at the Burbank Starbucks. No, my bladder is not talented and extremely large.

We were beyond excited!

IMG_1612We walked through the bar…

IMG_1613

Checked out the beers on tap for the party…

IMG_1614

And saw the sign that my sister probably wishes she had for when I come over to her house…

IMG_1615

Then we walked out to the patio for some fun times!

IMG_1617

Lexus even had the new isf on display for us to sit in!

IMG_1610

There was beer for all and passed appetizers, but I didn’t take any pictures of them, so they may or may not have actually existed. LA Magazine was another sponsor, though, so I’m sure their photogs with real cameras got some good shots.

Chatting with run friends at a rad brewery was pretty much the best way to spend the night. Taking pictures on the green screen was equally neat, though. Here are Josh, Eddie, and I.

IMG_1618

IMG_1642

We were able to choose our location, and since we’re all Ventura people, we, naturally, chose the perfection of the Ventura Pier for our backdrop!

We also got a great group shot!

IMG_1643

Clockwise from me on the top left, that’s me, Michael John, Eddie, Jess, Ryan, and Becky.

The husband and I even kept it real by taking this pic to let runners know that GI distress can creep up suddenly, and you need to make sure to hide yourself. Otherwise you risk real embarrassment.

IMG_1627

SOOOOOO, you should sign up. Mostly because I am sure that it will be a super rad event, but also because I will take awkward selfies with you all and force you to be my friend. (If only I could teleport V here!!!)

The best part about being an ambassador is that I get to raffle off one free entry to any location/distance! To enter, CLICK HERE!!!

The raffle will shut down on Friday, October 3 (MY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!), so enter now!

If you don’t win, or if you just want to sign up, you can save 10% by using the code RunLaceUp9! Click here to sign up!

What was the last race you ran?

What was the best race you ran? What made it the best?

